And now I’ll just spend the next 500 or so words saying nice things about other peoples blogs

I am not in the habit of writing round-up style posts, and I really don’t intend to get into one. I have however, recently been asked make a collection of a few posts others have written that I’ve enjoyed , so I thought I would share it with everyone, despite how oddly self-conscious it makes me feel.

I realize that lately I have not made much mention of my sobriety, which is still and always will be a thing. Quite frankly I find that aspect of my life somewhat dull outside the capacity of my experiences have of helping other people who might need to know that they are not alone. I am currently trying to step away from the “Dear Diary” type of entries I have  used to speak about this subject and focus more on storytelling, but I am sure I will touch on this subject again and again as I live and write. If you are in need of a direct perspective about pursuing sobriety I recommend checking out Sober Courage, perhaps starting with her recent post “Can You Take it or Leave It” which offers a sort of litmus test about alcoholism.

In the same vein, many people have read my posts about cycling, and I will continue those on occasion, provided they offer some sort of tale, whether it be amusing or cautionary. For those of you with an interest in cycling and would like to read a journal from someone who really loves it I present The Human Cyclist who published “More Cycle Paths or Fewer Psychopaths?” which explores driver/ cyclist relations.

Where I am really trying to go with my writing is to explore and develop my storytelling skills, fictional or otherwise, and who doesn’t love a good story. There are several blogs of this type that I like, and not to slight anyone I am only going to mention a couple.

The first I’d like to tell you about is The Convoluted Menagerie the author there often relates tales from his past one of which is “Blowing the Dream”. That particular story amused me to no end as I to have an urge to use a particular device as well. You’ll have to read it to find out what I am talking about.

I have been a long time fan of Catastrophe Jones, author of flash fiction and… other works. Her writing voice is well-defined, beautiful, and at times slightly unsettling. I would be hard pressed to pick a favorite entry of hers so I will just recommend her recent post, “The Price”, once you’re there I am sure you find a reason to lurk around a bit.

Lastly I would like to mention The Yard Men’s Station. This blog explores a well thought out steam punk world and the characters that dwell with in it. It is the product of an imaginative author, who is invested in her work and is intent on publishing it as novels; and is worth checking into. “The Yard Men’s Case Files: Uprising” is where I jumped into this setting, so that is where I’ll point you.

I’m sorry if I have neglected to mention anyone, but this is just a sampling of who I’ve been keeping my eye on lately.

12 thoughts on “And now I’ll just spend the next 500 or so words saying nice things about other peoples blogs

Leave a comment