RE: The Trouble With People

“Some things may change. People, however… People stay the same.”

Mr. Wednesday

From the novel American Gods, by Neil Gaiman (2001)

As I travel through my days I have, as of late, come to expect considerably less of most people. This ha little to do with the fact that they are short-sighted, avaricious, self-centered, petty and spiteful, which by and large most of them are. Instead given an examination of my life and what I’ve wound up doing with it I am faced with the simple fact that humans are just by nature unreliable.

People are frail, and weak, and vulnerable, and riddled with faults. They have problems, and goals, outside influences and worries of their own. Generally when they disappoint you, or make you angry it ends up because they are doing what they want, what is best for them and not what you want from them. Even though most of the things they do are deliberate, chances are they aren’t doing it just to piss you off.

Harder still, is acknowledging the fact that you too are unreliable. You are just as flawed as the next guy.

It’s really easy to lose sight of that some days.

 

Happy Monday

One thought on “RE: The Trouble With People

  1. It’s hard when people let you down or piss you off. I have learnt not to expect too much from ‘human nature’ being in the line of work I am in, so now I get more pleasant surprises than disappointment! I’d like to think that people make decisions and do things that benefits someone other than themselves, it just might not necessarily be me. We are all flawed, some more than others!!!

Leave a Reply

