RE: Signs of Progress

“Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes, but when you look back, everything is different…”

C.S. Lewis

I have been lamenting lately how I seem to be spinning my wheels. In the same job, living in the same town, and pretty much experiencing the same things everyday for the past eon or two. I then found myself walking down the street with my daughter, thinking how great it would be if she could visit some of my old stomping grounds and meet some of the people from my formative years as a twenty-something and earlier. That is when it finally became clear how much my life has changed.

In the past twenty years or so I have experienced the death of my parents, the founding and loss of my own business, I have been down and out homeless, I hitchhiked through a small portion of America, I successfully reentered productive society1, found what I suppose amounts to a career these days, fell in love, got married, fathered a child, reconnected with my estranged sister after nearly a decade, quit smoking, quit doing drugs2, quit drinking, and have started taking some small steps towards achieving my long abandoned goal of being a writer3.

I’ve experienced, and accomplished more than just those things. Some of it I may not be to proud, and some of it has been down right amazing. It makes me wonder what I’ll get up to next.

The daily grind that we put ourselves through for the sake of paying the bills often shortens our vision and tends to give a dull outlook on life; if you take a long enough look through a long enough lens, you might just make out how far you’ve come.

And, while you’ve got that eyepiece out it’s sometimes nice to point it forward.

Happy Monday


  1. For better or for worse. I am still trying to figure out what exactly is so “productive” about society. 
  2. Except coffee. I ain’t givin’ up my damned coffee! 
  3. A goal that I really need to work harder at. 
One thought on “RE: Signs of Progress

  1. Thank you for putting a smile on my face this sleepy Monday morning. Think about 10 years from now how different your more recent “past” is. Sounds like you’ve come a long way. I find myself questioning what is so productive about society myself. I wrote something about being a legit parent to raise a productive member of society just last week – and I feel like I should have put the same little blurb. To each their own – but happiness is the ultimate goal.

Leave a Reply

