Re: “Buts”

“You know my brother once told me, that nothing someone says before the word but really counts”

Benjen Stark, Game of Thrones (TV Series, 2011)

Let’s think about the ways I normally here the word “but” in a sentence:

You’re doing a great job, but…

I’d really like to help out, but…

I think he’s a great guy, but…

I’m not trying tell you how to live your life, but…

I don’t want to sound sexist, but…

I’m not homophobic, but…

This might seem racist, but…

It sounds like the above quote makes for a good rule of thumb.

There may be a few exceptions to the rule, but I can’t think of any. Can you?

5 thoughts on “Re: “Buts”

Leave a Reply

